Overusing prepositional phrases in your writing

I decided to throw together a post about problems I actively need to correct in my writing or things that I see in other writers’ stuff.

Pay attention. This might help you

I overuse prepositional phrases in my writing.

See that?  That was an example. A better way to write that: I overuse prepositional phrases in my writing. See?

I remember I had a character sitting at a desk and I wrote a line like She pulled her gun from the holster and slammed it down on the desk.

A critiquer said, “She’s sitting at a desk. You don’t need to tell me where she slammed it. I was already picturing it happening at the desk. Only tell me if she slams it somewhere less likely, like her own forehead.

Leave a Reply

